Bookish, Friday Fun

Friday Fun | September 22, 2023

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Every Friday we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. First Line Friday is hosted by Reading Is My Superpower. Open the book nearest you and post the first line.

Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice. Grab a book, any book. Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader. Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you. Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end on Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book related question.

Today, I’m going to use A Haunting on the Hill by Elizabeth Hand for BB/FLF & Friday 56.


– Book Beginnings & First Line Friday –

Most houses sleep, and nearly all of them dream: of conflagrations and celebrations, births and buckled floors; of children’s footsteps and clapboards in need of repair, of ailing pets and peeling paint, wakes and weddings and windows that no longer keep out rain and snow but welcome them, furtively, when no one is home to notice.

Very poetic, but I’m still having a hard time getting into this. I didn’t enjoy the source content as much as I anticipated and that was less than 200 pages…this is a full novel. And yes, I know I should have read it before I requested an ARC for this… Yikes, I’m in a pickle.

– Friday 56 –

“You weren’t breathing,” she said. “What?” Amanda rasped. Her throat hurt, as though she’d been shouting. “I came in to get you for lunch and you weren’t breathing,” Nisa continued.

Oh my… This might have actually helped push me to actually get into this. I’m curious..

– Book Blogger Hop –

Has reading helped you become a better person?

I believe it has in the sense that it’s given me a means of escapism from the stress of my life. That means I can decompress and be a better partner and mother. At least, I hope it does.


Send me links to your Friday feature/meme posts!

7 thoughts on “Friday Fun | September 22, 2023”

  1. I am sorry The Haunting on the Hill hasn’t been better for you.
    Reading definitely helps me relax and unwind. I hadn’t thought of it from the perspective of a parent, but, I have to say, I find it to be true for me too.
    I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay! I picked it back up today and I’m actually not absolutely hating it or anything. I’m hoping the pacing picks up quicker than The Haunting of Hill House and it seems to be looking like it might. 😬

      Yes! Kids are hard work so having an escape for a few moments does wonders for my mental health. I feel like I’m less inclined to get agitated quickly after spending naptime reading.

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a great week as well!

      Like

  2. I see you’ve been quiet on your blog for a month. Let me invite you back. Hop on over to my blog if you’d like to join in on some quotable fun. I’m taking over for Freda until she gets well for the Friday56 meme where we publish quotes from page 56 of the book we are currently reading. Loved to have you join us. Friday56 Quotes

    Like

Leave a comment